Study Group

A forum for those wishing to discuss Buddhist history and teachings in the Western academic manner, referencing appropriate sources.
AdmiralJim

Study Group

Post by AdmiralJim »

Hi guys,
I am part of a study group that meets every two weeks to study a certain text basically a chapter per meeting. The study group is roughly affiliated with the FWBO but most of the people who meet in this group don't belong to a specific tradition, but the largest following when they do follow a tradition is within the Theravadin tradition. My new attendance if you will as a follower of Tibetan teachings has opened up a minor can of worms as the non-affiliated people have noticed that Theravadin texts have sort of dominated over the last couple of years. I have sort of put my foot in my mouth when I told them that I had been studying a tibetan shedra course for three years and they want me to pick a Mahayana text to be studied after we have finished our book.
I stupidly agreed and realised when I got home that I don't have a clue where to start or pick. Mahayana is such a general term but I would prefer a text that perhaps avoids tibetan tantra as that could just confuse the group even more, if I was to show them any part of tantra it would probably be the basic four contemplations that form part of my ngondro as I think they are relevant irrespective of tradition. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated
Jim
I don't know where we are going but it will be nice when we get there
Josef

Re: Study Group

Post by Josef »

There are a few commentaries on Parting From the Four Attachments in HH Sakya Trizins book, Freeing the Heart and Mind.
There is also a short text Virupa and commentary by Sakya Trizin.

Those might be good ones to work with because you have some variety and they are short.

Then there is always Shantideva.