zen training

omnifriend

zen training

Post by omnifriend »

I read an article about a zen monk who explained the training in a monastery was incredibly rigorous, they had to do everything very fast, chopping wood, sleeping and eating very little, has anyone kind of taken on this practice as a lay practitioner, what Is the theory behind this way of practice, pushing your self to the limit finding enlightenment this way.
Wayfarer
Former staff member

Re: zen training

Post by Wayfarer »

There are a handful of literary accounts of life in Zen monasteries from the perspective of westerners, notably The Empty Mirror: Experiences in a Japanese Zen Monastery Janwillem van de Wetering and Thank You and Ok!: An American Zen Failure in Japan by David Chadwick.

From what I understand, discipline in Zen monasteries is indeed very rigorous, although I have no experience myself. But Japanese culture has a strong work ethic and places a lot of emphasis on self-discipline. They don't do things by halves, from what I understand of it.

In my last short retreat, three years ago, it was mentioned that one of the resident Thai monks had spent time in a Zen monastery in the past, and found it too strict, so he returned to the Thai order he had started in. And he was already a monk!
'Only practice with no gaining idea' ~ Suzuki Roshi
shaunc

Post by shaunc »

jeeprs wrote:There are a handful of literary accounts of life in Zen monasteries from the perspective of westerners, notably The Empty Mirror: Experiences in a Japanese Zen Monastery Janwillem van de Wetering and Thank You and Ok!: An American Zen Failure in Japan by David Chadwick.

From what I understand, discipline in Zen monasteries is indeed very rigorous, although I have no experience myself. But Japanese culture has a strong work ethic and places a lot of emphasis on self-discipline. They don't do things by halves, from what I understand of it.