Medicine buddha sadhana "Drop of Ambrosia"

Forum for discussion of Tibetan Buddhism. Questions specific to one school are best posted in the appropriate sub-forum.
qwerty13

Medicine buddha sadhana "Drop of Ambrosia"

Post by qwerty13 »

Does anyone know in which class of tantra this sadhana practice belongs to? Many months ago I received medicine buddha empowerment from H.E Garchen rinpoche. He said that this medicine buddha empowerment belongs to "unsurpassed" tantra which is he`s way of saying anuttara yoga tantra. I started practicing "Stream of Lapis lazuli" -sadhana which is anuttara yoga tantra sadhana of medicine buddha.But yesterday I was on Garchen institute webstore and saw medicine buddha sadhana "a drop of ambrosia". I started wondering if this is the practice that I should do based on the empowerment I received. But based on the visualizations,this sadhana seems more like Kriya level practice. But I am not sure enough.

If I knew for sure that "Drop of ambrosia" is Kriya, then at least that way I am able to exclude one possibility.But since I am not quite sure, my question is in which class of tantra that sadhana belongs.
Who should we turn to for refuge? We should seek refuge in the Buddha. He is the one we weep before
-H.H. 14th Dalai Lama
ratna

Re: Medicine buddha sadhana "Drop of Ambrosia"

Post by ratna »

Since Garchen Rinpoche gave the empowerment from Namchö, the Stream of Lapis would indeed be appropriate. But I think it would be better to receive oral transmission for the sadhana.

The Drop of Ambrosia is indeed something like Kriya, but AFAIK it's the one commonly practiced in Drikung centres in the West. I've seen it taught in conjunction with the empowerment of Medicine Buddha from Namchö.

R
qwerty13

Post by qwerty13 »

ratna wrote:Since Garchen Rinpoche gave the empowerment from Namchö, the Stream of Lapis would indeed be appropriate. But I think it would be better to receive oral transmission for the sadhana.

R