Buddhist prayer...

Requesting and offering prayers and aspirations for those in need.
ChangYuan

Buddhist prayer...

Post by ChangYuan »

So we all know Buddhism is non-theistic. But, when asked, this is where it gets hard to explain for me.

If there is no "God" in Buddhism, then who do we pray to?
Where exactly do the petitions we make go?

_/\_ Amituofo
_/\_ Amituofo

The Inept Buddhist
retrofuturist
Former staff member

Re: Buddhist prayer...

Post by retrofuturist »

Greetings,

Is it assistance from bodhisattvas, for the benefit of the world and one's own bodhisattva aspirations?

Metta,
Retro. :)
Live in concord, with mutual appreciation, without disputing, blending like milk and water, viewing each other with kindly eyes.
Karma Dondrup Tashi

Post by Karma Dondrup Tashi »

I'm no expert.

Kindergarten answer: In Mahayana we pray to enlightened Buddhas and Bodhisattvas for their assistance. They're all around us teaching all the time but we're too dumb to notice.

Sophomore answer: We pray to that which is spros bral, beyond concept, not God, not not-God, not both, not neither.

One of my pet theories is that Buddhism accomplished in the east what Judaism accomplished in the west - it has turned God into G-d, Ha-Shem, that which cannot and should not be named.

Gentlemen with white beards on thrones notwithstanding.
It has been the misfortune (not, as these gentlemen think it, the glory) of this age that everything is to be discussed. Edmund Burke, Reflections on the Revolution in France.
catmoon
Former staff member

Post by catmoon »

ChangYuan wrote:So we all know Buddhism is non-theistic. But, when asked, this is where it gets hard to explain for me.

_/\_ Amituofo
I just excise the whole problem by not making petitionary prayers at all.
Sergeant Schultz knew everything there was to know.
KathyLauren

Post by KathyLauren »