Tony Duff

philji

Tony Duff

Post by philji »

Can anyone give their option of any of Lama Tony Duff's translations of dzogchen and other texts. Please keep the conversation free from gossip, unfounded criticism. I simply want your personal views and reviews of his translations. they are quite pricey and I wonder if they are worth reading?
Kelwin

Re: Tony Duff

Post by Kelwin »

I'm not a fan. He has translated some of the most amazing texts, and apparently does it very accurately, so that's a good thing. However, to me, his work doesn't seem the have the flow (blessing?) that other translators have. Also, he often spends a lot of time in the introduction explaining how other translated the same text incorrectly.
'I will not take your feelings seriously, and neither will you' -Lama Lena
pemachophel

Post by pemachophel »

As a one-time professional translator myself, I understand and appreciate Lama Tony's methodology of denotative translation. His work deserves to be better and more widely appreciated for its linguistic accuracy. However, realistically, I doubt it ever will. It just is not user-friendly enough. IMO, it simply doesn't read well. If you know (some) Tibetan, I think it's useful to compare what Lama Tony has done with the original. If you don't, no amount of praise from others is going to sell you on his work. I've been down this road myself and it doesn't lead to widespread appreciation or use. I also agree that Lama Tony's arguments about the superiority of his approach are off-putting.

Just my two cents. I have no axe to grind with Lama Tony personally. As I say, his approach does, I think, have scholarly merit. However, the end users of these materials are overwhelmingly not scholars.

:namaste:
Pema Chophel པདྨ་ཆོས་འཕེལ
Leo Rivers

Post by Leo Rivers »