Questions..

Lukeinaz

Questions..

Post by Lukeinaz »

I have been practicing by myself for over four years. Mostly sutra studying with a solid sitting practice. Recently I have started to "shop around" a bit and look for a tradition or lineage to help continue my practice. A friend gave me some copies of Lama Yeshe's book and they really struck a chord in me. After visiting a center and reading all of the FPMT free books I feel I am ready to dive in a bit deeper.
I live over 1.5 hours away from the closest center so was advised to start the online programs on FPMT. I guess I am wondering if this is the correct path to go deeper. Or prehaps self study with some books on lam rim. I will try to make it to the center probably once a month as I am available. Thank you!
Konchog1

Re: Questions..

Post by Konchog1 »

Sounds good. The FPMT's The Foundation of Buddhist Thought series is excellent. The Great Treatise On The Stages Of The Path To Enlightenment (three volumes) is a classic.
Equanimity is the ground. Love is the moisture. Compassion is the seed. Bodhicitta is the result.

-Paraphrase of Khensur Rinpoche Lobsang Tsephel citing the Guhyasamaja Tantra

"All memories and thoughts are the union of emptiness and knowing, the Mind.
Without attachment, self-liberating, like a snake in a knot.
Through the qualities of meditating in that way,
Mental obscurations are purified and the dharmakaya is attained."

-Ra Lotsawa, All-pervading Melodious Drumbeats
ngodrup

Post by ngodrup »

My thinking is that if you are serious about *studying* sutrayana
with FPMT, then go directly to "the Basic Program," which is in reality
"intermediate" level. Alternatively, you could study some and practice
some-- for example by starting to accumulate what they call "devotional
practices" -- Prostrations, mandala offerings, water bowls, vajrasattva, etc.
I assume you are a westerner, have some kind of career or family--
we just don't have so much time. And as we get older, we have less.