On the Primacy of the Lotus

Yuren

On the Primacy of the Lotus

Post by Yuren »

Nirvana Sutra:
"... the very ultimate (uttarottara) of the meaning of all sutras is taught by this sutra. Not one single syllable or tittle has been taught that has previously been heard by any sravaka [follower of the Buddha] or pratyekabuddha [solitary, self-taught Buddha]. This sutra is supremely excellent (varottama). Therefore, this signifies that [this sutra] is a great uttara-tantra [culminational teaching] ... [this sutra is] the uttarottara [absolutely supreme] of all Mahayana discourses ..."
I realize that the Nirvana is categorized in the highest category together with the Lotus in Nichiren/Tendai classification.
The problem, however, is that it's not just the Nirvana Sutra that makes such claims about its own status. One can find many similar quotes in other Mahayana Sutras.

I looked up Nichiren's answer to this question and he says those claims are "relative". I don't understand. How do we decide which claims are relative, and which are to be taken seriously?
Nirvana seems to seriously claim to be superior to others. It explicitly says what it teaches is not expedient and that it has never been heard before by sravakas and pratyekabuddhas.

Thank you in advance for helping me understand Nichiren Buddhism better.
rory

Re: On the Primacy of the Lotus

Post by rory »

Yes but East Asian Mahayana upholds the Lotus Sutra as being of the greatest importance, additionally it is agreed that the Buddha's last discourses were the Lotus and the Nirvana Sutra which is the colophon of the Lotus Sutra. So of course we give them paramount importance as the Buddha says these are his final words.

The great founder of the Tiantai sect Zhiyi (Chih-I) Wrote of the 5 Periods of the Buddha's Teaching
T'ien-T'ai taught that the Buddha taught over five periods (J. Go-ji). The five periods of the Buddha's teaching [according to T'ien-t'ai], were: