Brief Intro and Question Concerning Sutra Translations

Shingyo

Brief Intro and Question Concerning Sutra Translations

Post by Shingyo »

Hello everyone, I am not really new to the forums, but new to posting anything. I am new to Pure Land Buddhism and am having to go an independent route out of necessity although if it were possible, I would not hesitate to join a group. However I do have a question unrelated to that issue that I was hoping I could get some advice on.

I have a copy of the BDK "Three Pure Land Sutras" and have read those, but I recently came across a different version online which is used by the group Amida-Shu. It seems similar to the translation done by Max Mueller with some word changes. One of the major differences with this translation is the slight change to the 18th Vow...

http://issuu.com/dharmavidya/docs/twopu ... 28/2840170
"Oh Blessed One, may I not come to the complete awakening if, when I have done so, living beings inhabiting other worlds who conceive a longing for awakening, who listen to my Name, who set their heart upon being reborn in my Pure Land, and who keep in mind with settled faith, are not assured of meeting me standing before them in full retinue and glory at the time of their death, such death thus being completely free of anxiety."
The Max Mueller version: http://www.amidausa.org/styled-7/
"O Bhagavat, if those beings who have directed their thought towards the highest perfect knowledge in other worlds, and who, after having heard my name, when I have obtained Bodhi, have meditated on me with serene thoughts; if at the moment of their death, after having approached them, surrounded by an assembly of Bhikkhus, I should not stand before them, worshipped by them, that is, so that their thoughts should not be troubled, then may I not obtain the highest perfect knowledge."
Compared to the BDK translation: http://www.bdk.or.jp/pdf/bdk/digitaldl/ ... s_2003.pdf