Chod empowerments

CrawfordHollow

Chod empowerments

Post by CrawfordHollow »

Hello all,

I am rather new to chod and recently received a chod empowerment in Vermont with Lamchen Gyalpo Rinpoche. Without going into detail, I will say that this was a very extensive and profound empowerment to a practice that combines the lineages of Machig with the terma revalations of the Drikungpa Nuden Dorje. I also have the lung (via ChNN) of the Longchen Nyingtig chod, Sound of the Dakini Laughter. Does the empowerment I received enable me to practice this as well? Now that I have been introduced to Machig's mandala, does that enable me to practice any chod out there (providing I have the lung), or does every practice have its own empowerment? Does anybody know how this empowerment I received relates to the "opening sky door" empowerment that I have heard so much about?

Thank you. I should mention that I was blown away by Lamchen Gyalpo Rinpoche. He is truly amazing.

Troy
ratna

Re: Chod empowerments

Post by ratna »

I don't know if what you received the is the same as Nüden Dorje's Rainbow Body Chod empowerment, but the latter one in fact includes the sky door empowerment.

In any case, you should be good to go for Dakini Laughter, at least. In general, I've heard it said that the sky door empowerment is enough for any Chöd.

R
CrawfordHollow

Post by CrawfordHollow »

Yes, this was Nuden Dorje's Rainbow Body empowerment.

Thanks!
philji

Post by philji »

I received a sky door Empowerment last year and it took a good few hours to complete, there was extensive instruction and explanation given during it however. I am wondering if all Chod Empowerments take this length of time as a few friends say they received an empowerment and it was pretty short...
Knotty Veneer

Post by Knotty Veneer »