why is Vajrayana considered the fastest way to buddhahood?

General discussion, particularly exploring the Dharma in the modern world.
frank123

why is Vajrayana considered the fastest way to buddhahood?

Post by frank123 »

Hi

I'm new to Buddhism and exploring various traditions and schools.im wondering If it takes incalculable eons to reach buddhahood through sutra approach what makes it possible to achieve buddhahood in one lifetime through vajrayana methods?why is there such a vast difference in time?seems so extreme.

Cheers :anjali:
Last edited by Grigoris on Sun May 25, 2014 6:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Fixed spelling mistake in thread title
JKhedrup

Re: why is Vajrayana considered the fasted way to buddhahood

Post by JKhedrup »

Pure Land also speaks of achieving Buddhahood in a way far swifter than the conventional evolution towards enlightenment as explained in the Sutras.

In terms of your questions about why Tantra is said to be swift, The Berzin Archives express this more eloquently than I ever could.
http://www.berzinarchives.com/web/en/ar ... ra_06.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
In general tantra, the obtaining causes for attaining the enlightening body and mind of a Buddha are more analogous to the results we wish to attain. We practice now as if we had already achieved our goals. Because of this feature, tantra, as the “resultant vehicle,” is more efficient for reaching enlightenment.