Brief members bios - please contribute!

Introduce yourself to others at Dharma Wheel.
Wayfarer
Former staff member

Re: Brief members bios - please contribute!

Post by Wayfarer »

I'm now 61 (how time flies) I started practicing meditation in 1978 or so, following instructions given by a kind of awareness training group lead by Walter Bellin (salutations to him) who taught mantra meditation and also, as I say, self-awareness training. I thought he (and then-wife Gita) were really good, Gita was my first (or maybe second) spiritual teacher. But I'd been intensely reading a lot of spiritual books before that time, all of the 60's classics - Krishnamurti, Alan Watts, Suzuki (S and D T) and many others - I was one of those types always hanging out in the spiritual books section (when not trying to be guitarist.) I actually learned some vital information through that experience, and then discovered Vipassana meditation (not via Goenka although did a 10-day retreat in 2007) and went on my first short retreat at Wat Buddha Dhamma in about 1979 or so (when Phra Khantipalo was head teacher there, salutations to him also).

Oh yes, around that time I also heard one of the last Sydney talks by Lama Yeshe, who was an electrifying presence, and who I think had a big influence on my subsequent development (even though only saw him once - salutations to him also.) At this time I was enrolled as a mature-age student at the University, studying Comparative Religion, Philosophy, Anthropology, Psychology and History, eventually graduating with an Hons in comparative religion, which was a superbly useless degree to get, and left me casting about for what to do for a living for years afterwards. (I eventually found my way into the technology industry and am now a tech writer.)