Peace :)

Introduce yourself to others at Dharma Wheel.
Loving

Peace :)

Post by Loving » Tue May 07, 2019 2:31 pm

Hello to all of the Dharma community :smile:. Having asked a few potentially annoying questions to determine how things work around here, I consider myself quite at home and so I want to introduce myself more formally. My name's Josh, I live in Brisbane, Australia and my background is secular. For most of my youth I was an atheist and I accepted, provisionally, the scientific materialism of the new atheists (Dawkins, Harris, Hitchens, etc.). Nevertheless, I've had a very strong interest in (western) philosophy since I was 13. This helped me to develop the conceptual tools to navigate the propositional framework that is "worldview", and uncover its assumptions. I have gone a long way down the road of scepticism; in fact I essentially hit rock bottom and then came back up, with a very impartial lens. At this point, I am very comfortable exploring all religions and ideologies to uncover what is "true" in and across them, because my very concept of "truth" is not held hostage by any particular doctrine (see this article if you wonder how one could possibly re-conceptualise truth).