Uṣṇīṣacakravartitantra

A forum for those wishing to discuss Buddhist history and teachings in the Western academic manner, referencing appropriate sources.
kausalya

Uṣṇīṣacakravartitantra

Post by kausalya »

I learned of the existence of this text only recently; it's given in Chinese by Amoghavajra, below. I would really like to see it in English, because I consider myself indebted to Amoghavajra, but I don't know where to go from here.

For example, is it feasible for me, a 31-year-old man in reasonable health, to approach learning Classical Chinese just for the (initial) purpose of translating this obscure text, when I have no knowledge of Chinese to begin with, or would my best chance be to pay someone to do the work?

Silly question, I know, but I'd appreciate advice from someone with a realistic perspective on my options! I've been strongly considering going back to school in general, and have been reluctant, so far, because I couldn't find anything that mattered enough to me vs. what people in my life have imagined for me.

As for the text, here is the source:

NTI Reader
"For as long as space remains,
For as long as sentient beings remain,
Until then may I too remain
To dispel the miseries of the world."
(Shantideva)
crazy-man

Re: Uṣṇīṣacakravartitantra

Post by crazy-man »

The Uṣṇīṣacakravarti tantra一字奇特佛頂經 translated by Amoghavajra contains many methods for invoking the assistance of female demons as Esoteric Buddhist partners. One method describes how the practitioner invokes a yakṣī through a homa ritual and makes her do a variety of tasks according to his wishes (see T. 953.19:296c). Spells are a stable ingredient in the rites with which the adept makes the non-human
assistant perform the task at hand, but in some cases, especially those from the later tantric phase, more arcane requirements are needed in order to achieve success. In extreme cases these may involve necromancy, sex, and even cannibalism on the part of the practitioner.