What is the Typical Asian Diet?

A place to discuss health and fitness, including healthy diets, etc.
Dharma Flower

What is the Typical Asian Diet?

Post by Dharma Flower »

I’ve been eating a mostly vegetarian diet for about the last eight months. I would like to incorporate meat back into my diet, while nonetheless eating healthier than before.

In the typical American diet, we eat too much red meat and junk food, and not enough fruits and vegetables. The typical Asian diet is healthier in comparison:
Folks in Asian countries tend to have lower rates of cancer, heart disease and obesity than Americans do, and they typically live longer, too. Researchers suspect that owes largely to their diet: a low-fat, healthy eating style that emphasizes rice, vegetables, fresh fruit and fish, with very little red meat.
https://health.usnews.com/best-diet/tra ... asian-diet
While it’s often assumed that Buddhism in general is vegetarian, this is not inherently the case:
https://www.buddhanet.net/e-learning/dh ... /fdd21.htm
Queequeg
Former staff member

Re: What is the Typical Asian Diet?

Post by Queequeg »

there is a thread for discussing vegetarianism in Buddhism. It will not be allowed to metasticize out of that area.

Traditional diets: Rice, vegetables, pickles. That's what you fill up on. Meat is just a little side. Often fish. Chicken. Pork. Moderate portions. You should not feel full after the meal.
There is no suffering to be severed. Ignorance and klesas are indivisible from bodhi. There is no cause of suffering to be abandoned. Since extremes and the false are the Middle and genuine, there is no path to be practiced. Samsara is nirvana. No severance achieved. No suffering nor its cause. No path, no end. There is no transcendent realm; there is only the one true aspect. There is nothing separate from the true aspect.
-Guanding, Perfect and Sudden Contemplation,
Dharma Flower

Post by Dharma Flower »