Adultery and Being a Buddhist

A forum for discussion of Buddhist ethics.
ChrisK

Adultery and Being a Buddhist

Post by ChrisK »

Many years ago I started practicing Buddhism, in it's most basic form. I dropped away from it after multiple deployments to Iraq because I felt conflicted with being a Buddhist and fighting in a war. At any rate, I am retired from the military now and I feel Buddhism calling me back, but I have another issue. As I start back on my journey of Buddhism I have another conflict which goes against my Buddhist beliefs. I am cheating on my wife, whom I love, and I'm in love with another woman. Now I know a lot of people will say you cannot love two people but I disagree. I disagree and I know for a fact that you can, because I do. I can love each woman because each woman give me different things I need and I love them because they are two different people. Now, as a Buddhist I am suppose to avoid suffering and causing harm to others and in saying that I would like opinions or maybe some guidance. So, if I'm suppose to avoid harming others how do I tell one I'm in love with another woman or how do I end the other relationship, which I refuse to call an affair because it's much more than that? The "other" woman knows I'm married and is willing to share me and is also willing to make sure no one finds out about us. I must also add this info because it makes me more aware of not hurting the "other" woman. The "other" woman is fighting Lymphoma and ending anything at this time would be too harsh and hurtful because she depends on me for comfort and companionship. I would truly like some input on this issue. Thank you.
Johnny Dangerous
Global Moderator

Re: Adultery and Being a Buddhist

Post by Johnny Dangerous »

Maybe a good first step is to stop rationalizing your behavior, and examine your own motivations a bit.