Making changes.

A forum for discussion of Buddhist ethics.
dialectbird

Making changes.

Post by dialectbird »

I started practicing at the end of last year, and am now confronted with certain things in my own behavior that I would deem morally inappropriate for a person who would consider themselves a Buddhist. I have a genuine urge to live more closely with the precepts and to live a simpler life. There are a few of the precepts that I have difficulty with. I don’t want to mention the particulars, but basically, when I am in the act of doing something that I find inappropriate or that I know is wrong, I can’t seem to get a grip enough to shake myself free of these poisonous actions.

I know it’s super vague, but is there anything I can to do end these problems?

合掌
DB
kausalya

Re: Making changes.

Post by kausalya »

dialectbird wrote: Sat Jul 21, 2018 11:04 am I started practicing at the end of last year, and am now confronted with certain things in my own behavior that I would deem morally inappropriate for a person who would consider themselves a Buddhist. I have a genuine urge to live more closely with the precepts and to live a simpler life. There are a few of the precepts that I have difficulty with. I don’t want to mention the particulars, but basically, when I am in the act of doing something that I find inappropriate or that I know is wrong, I can’t seem to get a grip enough to shake myself free of these poisonous actions.

I know it’s super vague, but is there anything I can to do end these problems?

合掌
DB
Details would be helpful, of course, as then I might be able to tailor my advice.

Off the top of my head, you need to start questioning what you're doing, and sticking around long enough in introspection to get some answers.

An example would be from Lama Surya Das's teaching, where he recommends asking, "How real is this? How long-lasting is this?"