is a home made statue acceptable?

Pictures of revered teachers, places, rupas, temples, shrine rooms etc. that bring inspiration to our members. Pilgrimage advice etc.
gingercatni

is a home made statue acceptable?

Post by gingercatni »

Hi everyone,

I have 3 large buddha statues at home and recently I have been wanting to have a female presence on my shrine table. I am only beginning to understand the role kwan yin has and I have decided to add her to my shrine. I don't want a tiny statue as it would look odd next to my very large buddha statues so I've been looking at similar sized kwan yin statues online, very eye watering prices attached to them ranging from $399 to $799 for a 16" figure. So I was thinking about sculpting my own, I'm no artist but I did dabble with sculpting in clay when I was younger. Is it ok to put a homemade image on a shrine table is it disrespectful?
Virgo

Re: is a home made statue acceptable?

Post by Virgo »

gingercatni wrote: Fri May 25, 2018 10:08 pm Hi everyone,

I have 3 large buddha statues at home and recently I have been wanting to have a female presence on my shrine table. I am only beginning to understand the role kwan yin has and I have decided to add her to my shrine. I don't want a tiny statue as it would look odd next to my very large buddha statues so I've been looking at similar sized kwan yin statues online, very eye watering prices attached to them ranging from $399 to $799 for a 16" figure. So I was thinking about sculpting my own, I'm no artist but I did dabble with sculpting in clay when I was younger. Is it ok to put a homemade image on a shrine table is it disrespectful?
Sure it's okay, why wouldn't it be?

Kevin...
gingercatni

Post by gingercatni »

Virgo wrote: Fri May 25, 2018 10:12 pm

Sure it's okay, why wouldn't it be?

Kevin...
I thought they had to be produced in a certai way, my buddhas have seals at the bottom of them. When I finally get round to making kwan yin I'll post some pictures!:)
Virgo