Buddhism and the Historical Buddha

If you're new to the forum or new to Buddhism, this is the best place for your questions. Responses require moderator approval before they are visible.
Loving

Buddhism and the Historical Buddha

Post by Loving » Sat May 04, 2019 9:38 am

Through discussion on my post about the secularisation of Buddhism through scientific discovery, I began to perceive that "Buddhism" is a somewhat broader concept than "accepting and obeying Gotama". That is what I want to talk about here. What I mean more specifically is that it does not appear to be essential to Buddhism (especially in our era) to regard the words and deeds of the Buddha as akin to the "Word of God" in Christianity or Islam. This may be, for instance, because the Buddha himself seems to have urged us (a) not to accept him out of reverence, but through our own investigations, and (b) not to cling to viewpoints, but to practice dharma.

Since I am very new to studying Buddhism, I had previously thought that the essence of Buddhism is to regard the awakened Shakyamuni Buddha as quite literally a "Perfect One", one who had no cravings and no sufferings whatsoever, and thus transcended rebirth in a literal cosmic scheme of cyclic reincarnation according to the karma instantiated into one's conduct. Furthermore, on this account, so that we do not think this was all made up by early Buddhists, the Buddha himself assures us that he "woke up" to this reality by his own direct experience (of his past lives, the heavenly and hellish realms, cosmic cycles, nirvana, etc.) through meditation. This provides the basis for trust in Buddha, trust in the cosmic scheme, and trust in living by and spreading the dharma as it was authentically taught. It therefore seemed essential to me that this direct experience, direct knowledge, as recorded in the canon, was a remote possibility for spiritual seekers. If you yourself wake up to, e.g., past lives in full detail, there is no room for doubt; but if