Why are SGI meetings necessary?

dharmapdx

Why are SGI meetings necessary?

Post by dharmapdx »

About two years ago I started attending SGI meetings. It's not that I disagreed with what was being taught, but rather that many people seemed to be socially awkward and it just got uncomfortable for me on a social level. Also it seemed that the meetings were always at an introductory level, and I am self-taught and had been studying about Nichiren Buddhism for about five years at that point. So I stopped attending SGI meetings.

I thought for a while about returning to Nichiren Shu or maybe looking into Rissho Koesikai, etc., but I realized that the truth is that I LIKE Soka Gakkai and its practice, just not the meetings -- which, again, are usually introductory and therefore unnecessary for me at this point.

I received an SGI Gohonzon, and I am subscribed to "Living Buddhism" and "World Tribune" -- I love them! And I have a daily SGI practice. So, I actually consider myself a member of SGI. (I make small donations occasionally, etc.) I actually love the organization and think it does a lot of good. I just don't like the meetings….

And yet I know that leaders of SGI like me to attend meetings. Why is this? Just seems to me that as this is a lay organization with a primarily private practice in one's own home, with so many self-study publications available from the organization, meetings seem unnecessary.
Queequeg
Former staff member

Re: Why are SGI meetings necessary?

Post by Queequeg »

Having quit, my opinion has to be discounted, but the one thing I miss is the meetings. I actually quit because of most of the other stuff. LOL