Good west coast wine?

Casual conversation between friends. Anything goes (almost).
amanitamusc

Good west coast wine?

Post by amanitamusc »

Are there any good wine companies that are not owned by Gallo or Constellation Brands that are easily found and put out
quality affordable reds and whites?
boda

Re: Good west coast wine?

Post by boda »

amanitamusc wrote: Sat Jan 06, 2018 4:57 am Are there any good wine companies that are not owned by Gallo or Constellation Brands that are easily found and put out
California is lousy with them. I work for a guy that owns and operates a small winery. He buys his grapes from Napa and Paseo Robles and does everything himself except the bottling. They have bottling trucks, little factories on wheels, that will come to your winery as needed. He make great wine but many small wineries not so good.
A Ah Sha Sa Ma Ha

Post by A Ah Sha Sa Ma Ha »

I bought this for New Years Eve.....(purely for the bottle ! ) I'm not an expert on wine....I love Reunite Lambrusco...LOL...but the Sophia...I was pleasantly surprised...it tastes as good as the bottle looks ! And it wasn't expensive...about $13-15 at Target.

https://www.francisfordcoppolawinery.co ... a/riesling

I had it with Lobster & Steak.
Sādhaka

Post by Sādhaka »

Who cares, as long as it does not have glyphosate in it?

Though I guess if you're a legit Mahasiddha it doesn't matter if there's glyphosate in it.
Last edited by Grigoris on Sat Jan 06, 2018 4:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Removed expletives
Malcolm

Post by Malcolm »

amanitamusc wrote: Sat Jan 06, 2018 4:57 am Are there any good wine companies that are not owned by Gallo or Constellation Brands that are easily found and put out
Duckhorn has a second label called Decoy. They make excellent, inexpensive Cabs, Merlots, Pinots, etc., primarily from Sonoma grapes. Average cost 20-25$