Tai chi and Qi gong in your practice

Casual conversation between friends. Anything goes (almost).
Könchok Thrinley
Former staff member

Tai chi and Qi gong in your practice

Post by Könchok Thrinley »

Hi,

I quite enjoy doing qigong (especially zhang zhuang) and I was wondering whether someone here also enjoys qigong or tai chi and how it fits into your buddhist practice?

Especially after reading this article http://melong.com/tai-chi-and-dzogchen/.
“Observing samaya involves to remain inseparable from the union of wisdom and compassion at all times, to sustain mindfulness, and to put into practice the guru’s instructions”. Garchen Rinpoche

For those who do virtuous actions,
goodness is what comes to pass.
For those who do non-virtuous actions,
that becomes suffering indeed.

- Arya Sanghata Sutra
LolCat

Re: Tai chi and Qi gong in your practice

Post by LolCat »

Are there any good videos you would recommend for a complete beginner?

I used to practice this one thing where you stand like a tree, but that fell by the wayside long before I started Dharma practice.
Könchok Thrinley
Former staff member

Post by Könchok Thrinley »

LolCat wrote: Fri Aug 10, 2018 7:41 pm Are there any good videos you would recommend for a complete beginner?

I used to practice this one thing where you stand like a tree, but that fell by the wayside long before I started Dharma practice.
I'd suggest a class would be the best I think. There is a lot of fake qigong and taichi. Plus it is really better to learn from and instructor. However, there is this great video series https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... 794EE191C1.
“Observing samaya involves to remain inseparable from the union of wisdom and compassion at all times, to sustain mindfulness, and to put into practice the guru’s instructions”. Garchen Rinpoche

For those who do virtuous actions,
goodness is what comes to pass.
For those who do non-virtuous actions,
that becomes suffering indeed.

- Arya Sanghata Sutra