DIY prayer wheel

Casual conversation between friends. Anything goes (almost).
Könchok Thrinley
Former staff member

DIY prayer wheel

Post by Könchok Thrinley »

Hi,

since most prayerwheels are quite expensive and because I saw this video:

I have started thinking about making my own prayer wheel. It would be made from a newly baught can that is usually used for paint. However, being a stupid humanities student I cannot wrap my head around the problem how to make it spin. Does anyone know how big hand held prayer wheels are spinning or does anyone have any idea how to make it spin? The can would probably be one that can hold 0.1l and is 55mm tall and the width is 56mm.
“Observing samaya involves to remain inseparable from the union of wisdom and compassion at all times, to sustain mindfulness, and to put into practice the guru’s instructions”. Garchen Rinpoche

For those who do virtuous actions,
goodness is what comes to pass.
For those who do non-virtuous actions,
that becomes suffering indeed.

- Arya Sanghata Sutra
pemachophel

Re: DIY prayer wheel

Post by pemachophel »