Mahayana ethics guideline

General forum on the teachings of all schools of Mahayana and Vajrayana Buddhism. Topics specific to one school are best posted in the appropriate sub-forum.
jet.urgyen

Mahayana ethics guideline

Post by jet.urgyen »

Hello all,

i would like to as you a guideline on Mahayana ethics which go straight to the points. i'm not good with texts so i need some references from those more learned.

Thanks. :)
true dharma is inexpressible.

The bodhisattva nourishes from bodhicitta, through whatever method the Buddha has given him. Oh joy.
Zhen Li

Re: Mahayana ethics guideline

Post by Zhen Li »

There are bodhisattva precepts texts such as the Sutra on Upasaka Precepts and the Brahmajala Sutra. But I think every sutra has some comments on behaviour and activity of some kind.

As regards the practical aspects of the perfection of morality (śīlapāramitā), this does not differ markedly from non-Mahayana morality, however the important difference is more cognitive. Are you viewing activity as taking place on the part of a self and phenomena or are you transcending dualistic views?
Vasana

Post by Vasana »

The Treasury of Knowledge: Buddhist Ethics v. 5 by Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche.

This covers ethics individually for all 9 Yanas.
'When thoughts arise, recognise them clearly as your teacher'— Gampopa
'When alone, examine your mind, when among others, examine your speech'.— Atisha
jet.urgyen

Post by jet.urgyen »

Zhen Li wrote: Wed Mar 14, 2018 6:43 am There are bodhisattva precepts texts such as the Sutra on Upasaka Precepts and the Brahmajala Sutra. But I think every sutra has some comments on behaviour and activity of some kind.

As regards the practical aspects of the perfection of morality (śīlapāramitā), this does not differ markedly from non-Mahayana morality, however the important difference is more cognitive. Are you viewing activity as taking place on the part of a self and phenomena or are you transcending dualistic views?