Medicine Buddha and Pure Land

General forum on the teachings of all schools of Mahayana and Vajrayana Buddhism. Topics specific to one school are best posted in the appropriate sub-forum.
Jingang

Medicine Buddha and Pure Land

Post by Jingang » Wed Oct 24, 2018 5:55 pm

I was wondering if anyone could offer me any pointers. I'm a novice, having practiced on my own for two or three years. My focus to date has primarily been on Pure Land traditions, both Japanese and Vajrayana.

I had the good fortune to read the Medicine Buddha sutra and practice the mantra some time ago. Like the sutra suggests, I feel like my mind has been gradually led towards more regular practice of the Medicine Buddha name, which combined with sutra read, brings me great peace.

It would appear as though the Medicine Buddha practice is a complete path to liberation. However, I have some questions over the sutra. Specifically the following lines:

“The merits, virtues and adornments of this realm are identical
to those of Amitabha Buddha’s Pure Land in the west....

"For these reasons, Manjusri, all devout men and women should vow to be born in this land."

And:

“If the patient has a particular wish and single-
mindedly recites this Dharani, his wish will be fulfi lled.
He will be free of disease, enjoy a longer life and, at death,
be born in the realm of the Medicine Buddha. He will then
be beyond retrogression and eventually realize Supreme
Enlightenment."

I know the Medicine Buddha sutra is often part of the Pure Land liturgy. Specifically because of this:

“Moreover, Manjusri, within the Fourfold Assembly of Bhiksus, Bhiksunis, Upasakas and Upasikas, as well as among other men and women of pure faith, there are those who are able to adhere to the Eight Precepts for a full year or for three months a year, dedicating these good roots toward rebirth in the Western Pure Land of Amitabha, the Buddha of Infi nite Life, so as to listen to the correct Dharma.