New To it All

Forum for discussion of Tibetan Buddhism. Questions specific to one school are best posted in the appropriate sub-forum.
gaelic

New To it All

Post by gaelic » Thu Jan 16, 2014 9:28 pm

Hello everyone, and peace with you all,

Basically I am new to Buddhism, don't know really anything about it much at all, except that many many Tibetan Buddhist have been a source of inspiration to me. I have been a Sufi Muslim (by conversion) for 14 years, and after a lot of soul searching, I have not been able to bring myself to continue this path because of certain intellectual and moral issues. Actually, I watched video a while ago about the Dalai Lama helping to build a school for Tibetan Muslims and it really was beautifully inspiring to me, a stark contrast between the gesture of the Afghan Muslims blowing up the Buddha statues. The Dalai Lama really inspires me a lot, accept I do have some issue with the Dorje Shugden thing, I don't understand that, if there are actually no gods then I don't see the big deal. I'm not passing judgement I'm just saying.

I watched a documentary on the Buddha's life, it was so beautiful it made me cry really, especially the part of the young girl giving him the food when he was in the emaciated state, and when Mara called for a witness and the Buddha touched the ground and said that the earth was his witness. Oh, it was just so moving how they told the story in the documentary, beautiful.

I also watched the movie about Guru Milarepa, where he learns black magic and destroys the village where he had suffered a lot, and when he seen the results, he turned to the dharma. They didn't have the second part of the movie, but I read his story about how he goes to Marpa and becomes a great Yogi.

And I watched a film by Wade Davies (a fellow Canadian) where he meets an old lady that had been in solitary retreat for 45 years reciting Om Mani Padme Hun, I really felt that was amazing.