is a sangha needed?

Forum for discussion of Tibetan Buddhism. Questions specific to one school are best posted in the appropriate sub-forum.
jay88

is a sangha needed?

Post by jay88 »

So as the title suggests is a Sangha needed? And what exactly is a Sangha ? I have been practicing alone for a few years now and I do wish I had the condition for a Sangha or a group of fellow buddhist practitioners. I read online about people interacting with members of their Sangha and think to myself I'm I missing a big part of the experience ? I know in my current situation it would be near impossible to communicate with Sangha in my part of the world . But I guess the mian thought is would It benefit my practice any if I did have them? So what do you guys think can any one give some examples of dharma practitioners who didn't have a Sangha, or why you think it would benefit ones practice to find a Sangha?
Redfaery

Re: is a sangha needed?

Post by Redfaery »

Well, yes...the sangha is important. It's one of the three jewels. You take refuge in it, along with the Buddha and the Dharma. No matter how well you think you're doing on your own, you would do so much better with others helping you.
NAMO SARASWATI DEVI
Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever. - GANDHI
I am a delicate feminine flower!!!!
dzoki

Post by dzoki »

There are two kinds of sangha, there is Arya Sangha consisting of arhats, pratyeka buddhas and bodhisattvas (including our teachers) and ordinary sangha consisting of unrealized persons. You definitely need arya sangha as a guide.