Am I meditating correctly?

Forum for discussion of Tibetan Buddhism. Questions specific to one school are best posted in the appropriate sub-forum.
Hamza

Am I meditating correctly?

Post by Hamza » Fri Jul 06, 2018 7:41 am

Hello,

This might be a very basic question but this has me so confused that I've stopped meditating completely and wish to get back into it very soon.

So I've been meditating for the past 3 years largely through focusing on the breath, and open awareness (where I focus on anything that shows up and disappears in consciousness, such as sounds, smells, thoughts, and move from object to object) and sometimes walking meditation.

Out of all these types of meditations, the open awareness comes most naturally to me and its the "easiest" for me to do. However, since there has been so much focus on the breathing mediation from people around me and since I find the breathing meditation less pleasant/harder to do, I get the experience that the open awareness meditation is too "easy" for me to even be a form of meditation and I also find it much different than the breathing meditation and "feels" less like a

My question: Is the open awareness meditation I described just as a potent/good form of meditation as the breathing one?

In addition, I've recently been doing another form of meditation which I learned from Orgyen Chowang Rinpoche's book, Our Pristine Mind:
In this meditation, I just remain aware in the present moment - not following the past, not anticipating the future and leaving my mind alone, not focusing on any objects. I really like this form of meditation as well and its similar to the open awareness one.

Is it perfectly fine for me to do just these 2 forms of meditations and not do the breathing meditation?

If the answer is yes - as long as I am aware of any practice I am doing, that would be considered meditation in this sense, correct? What would not constitute to be meditation in the Buddhist sense?

Johnny Dangerous
Global Moderator