Taking Empowerment as a Blessing

Forum for discussion of Tibetan Buddhism. Questions specific to one school are best posted in the appropriate sub-forum.
SilenceMonkey

Taking Empowerment as a Blessing

Post by SilenceMonkey » Mon Jul 23, 2018 12:06 pm

I'm somewhat new to Tibetan style Buddhism. As I'm navigating this world of empowerments and gurus, I'm a little confused about the nature of public teachings. Some people say it's a great opportunity, that you need empowerment to be able to practice, etc... Others say all it is is symbolic and is basically just a blessing, no real empowerments are given at these big teachings. Others say it's a waste of time, just take empowerments from your own guru (and lineage).

I've looked around a bit, and haven't found much yet about what it means to "take empowerment as a blessing." It seems Kalu Rinpoche has said one can take empowerment with the intention 1) To take it merely for blessing, 2) To practice at some point in the future, 3) To practice immediately. Is intention all that is needed to make an empowerment either a blessing or an initiation? How does one go about "taking empowerment as a blessing" (say, if one does not wish to actually practice it every day or at all)?

Is it wise to take many empowerments as blessings, perhaps to create good karmic links with many teachers and lineages? Or would it merely confuse the mind and the spirit?

chimechodra

Re: Taking Empowerment as a Blessing

Post by chimechodra » Mon Jul 23, 2018 6:50 pm