Long meditation session

Forum for discussion of Tibetan Buddhism. Questions specific to one school are best posted in the appropriate sub-forum.
Mirror

Long meditation session

Post by Mirror »

Hello, I'm new to meditation (only practically, theoretically I know a lot of informations about it).

I realised that many things what I was doing are useless and waste of time. So I decided to meditate as long as I could. Coz I have a lot of free time I would like to spend that time in meditation. I'm using samatha meditation (focusing on my breath).

Could long meditation sessions be dangerous for my mental health if I do it properly? Could it be harmful?

Thank you very much!

Please don't care about my meditation posture. I know how to sit properly and I change the poses during my meditation to minimize the health impact.
jet.urgyen

Re: Long meditation session

Post by jet.urgyen »

In this sense, problem i know about shamata is that if you focus on this technique only, then you will find very difficult to live normal life, even to move.

Buddha said one should do as one tune musical instruments. Not too much, not too little.

That's what i can say :)
true dharma is inexpressible.

The bodhisattva nourishes from bodhicitta, through whatever method the Buddha has given him. Oh joy.
climb-up

Post by climb-up »

((caveat, I am not a medical or mental health professional))

Do you ask because you have specific issues you are concerned about, or just generally?

I don't think many people have any problem with meditations, and the biggest problem would most likely be that you are sitting for a long time with your mind wandering (many short sessions is generally recommended for beginners).

BUT, meditation does eventually (if you go far enough) turn your outer and inner world inside out, and you have predispositions to certain types of mental illness it could absolutely cause a problem.