What are the Preliminary Teachings?

Forum for discussion of Tibetan Buddhism. Questions specific to one school are best posted in the appropriate sub-forum.
Bandi

What are the Preliminary Teachings?

Post by Bandi »

"Focus on preliminary teachings for now and leave the chakra for later. They are not important yet." Grigoris

I am new to Buddhist practice, although I had already developed a meditation practice, and I have read a number of books by Buddhist authors. I want to structure my learning as best I can and I would love to know what are considered the "Preliminary Teachings."

Thank you in advance.
Jangchup Donden

Re: What are the Preliminary Teachings?

Post by Jangchup Donden »

Bandi wrote: Tue Dec 11, 2018 12:56 am "Focus on preliminary teachings for now and leave the chakra for later. They are not important yet." Grigoris

I am new to Buddhist practice, although I had already developed a meditation practice, and I have read a number of books by Buddhist authors. I want to structure my learning as best I can and I would love to know what are considered the "Preliminary Teachings."

Thank you in advance.
I'd say the four thoughts that turn the mind to dharma, and teachings on bodhichitta.

Without renunciation for this life, and without bodhichitta the rest of the path is pointless.
Josef

Post by Josef »

Jangchup Donden wrote: Tue Dec 11, 2018 2:30 am
Bandi wrote: Tue Dec 11, 2018 12:56 am "Focus on preliminary teachings for now and leave the chakra for later. They are not important yet." Grigoris

Thank you in advance.
I'd say the four thoughts that turn the mind to dharma, and teachings on bodhichitta.

Without renunciation for this life, and without bodhichitta the rest of the path is pointless.
Seconded.
The four thoughts and bodhicitta are absolutely essential and the key to all other practices.