Karmic consequence of having troubled relations with Gurus

Forum for discussion of Tibetan Buddhism. Questions specific to one school are best posted in the appropriate sub-forum.
treningday

Karmic consequence of having troubled relations with Gurus

Post by treningday » Sun May 24, 2020 8:33 pm

Hello everyone

I am fairly new to Buddhism though I was born into a Buddhist family, I never got serious about it until about five years ago. In the past three years, I have studied in a lineage with my current Guru, as well as explored other teachers online. I will spare the details but I am on bad relations with my current Guru and am not allowed to receive teachings from him until I reform my behavior, which is more of a repentance for my past behaviors and current attitude. This behavior has more to do with loyalty than some ethical breach like violation of precepts or non-virtuous activities. After more than a year of reflecting on this, I cannot do what he asks as I see there is also an issue from his side. What I mean is, he is a human, much to my naive surprise after viewing him as perfect and enlightened. In no way am I excusing myself of any fault, it's just there is more to the story. To clarify, I have not received empowerments from him, only transmission of mantras, so based on my understanding, there is no bond of samaya as I am not an official Vajrayana practitioner. This process has been extremely difficult and traumatizing for me and most of last year was spent in impotence and agony.

A good proportion of the other teachers that I have been interested in have shown themselves to be unworthy in their ethical conduct. Their teachings have been very beneficial and they have much depth of experience, at least as much as I can tell from my own understanding, but they have been disappointments in their morality. Thankfully I have enough grounding and experience in Dharma to press on but this has shaken me quite a few times.