Tibetan Doctors, please read

Forum for discussion of Tibetan Buddhism. Questions specific to one school are best posted in the appropriate sub-forum.
padma norbu

Tibetan Doctors, please read

Post by padma norbu »

I got these Tibetan medicine pills called Agar-35 and "Happiness of Mind." They are supposed to help balance everything out and put one in a calm state which is conducive to meditation, basically. They work gradually over time and it's not like you pop a pill to chill out. It balances pitta and whatever (I'm no doctor).

Check out these instructions:
There are specific guidelines given in preparation for taking the idfferent Tibetan pill formulas and specifically the Precious Pills. Among these are that this pill should not be exposed to direct sunlight or bright artificial light, it should be taken on days with no extreme output of energy for three days prior to beginning and four days following taking the precious pill. Refrain from sex & excessive exercise, coffe or black/green tea or alcohol, red meat, eggs, shell fish, raw fruits or vegetables, fried, pungent or sour foods, smoking extreme hot or cold baths or showers. Mild intake of food, avoiding garlic, onion and black olive.

Prepare a room by blocking the windows and doors so that direct light cannot enter. A candle may be used for light when necessary. The night before, remove and crush the Precious pill or pills and then place in boiled water in a clean unchipped glass and cover with a white cloth and place it at your bedside allowing it to soak over night. On this evening it is particularly important to dress warmly and be warm during sleep. Early the next morning one should drink the mixture after stirring it thoroughly with the clean ring finger while reciting the Medicine Buddha Mantra. This should then be followed by drinking a cup of warm, boiled water. All the while not leaving the darkened room for twenty four hours. Bathroom should be darkened (candle is ok) when needed.