His Holiness Sakya Trzin on Vajrakilaya practice

Forum for discussion of Tibetan Buddhism. Questions specific to one school are best posted in the appropriate sub-forum.
Posts: 1486
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 7:30 am

His Holiness Sakya Trzin on Vajrakilaya practice

Postby phantom59 » Tue Jun 05, 2012 5:59 pm

"Of the profound and inexhaustible ocean of teachings that Guru Padmasambhava possessed, Vajrakilaya is one of the most
important. Its empowerment, teachings and pith instructions were given to one of his most important spiritual disciples, Khön
Nagendra Rakshita (Lü'i Wangpo Sungwa), who then practised it until he achieved both ordinary and supreme siddhis. As a sign
of his great attainment, he managed to display the great miracle of keeping his vajra and bell suspended in space. Guru
Padmasambhava himself declared that Nagendra Rakshita had attained the eighth stage of the great bodhisattva path.

The Vajrakilaya empowerment, teachings and pith instructions then passed down from Nagendra Rakshita to his own nephews, as
they were appointed as the holders of the Khön lineage; and ever since then they have been passed down through this lineage,
which includes the five Sakya patriarchs.

So this is a very rare teaching that has not only continued through an unbroken lineage from the primordial Buddha, but has also
been passed down through the hereditary lineage. Each of these masters, froom Guru Padmasambhava to those of the present,
has achieved great realization, and as a result has performed great miracles.

I myself received this from my own father, as well as from one of my most important root gurus, both of whom attained great
realization through the Vajrakilaya practice, and showed many significant miracles."

His Holiness Sakya Trizin

http://www.sakyatsechenthubtenling.org/ ... final4.pdf

Sakya monasteries have innumerable rituals, and ceremonies, and this one is the most elaborate and longest of them all. The Vajrakilaya ceremony continues for an entire month, from the first day of the seventh Tibetan lunar month until the first day of the eighth lunar month. In fact, people often refer to the Vajrakilaya ritual as dunba, or ‘the seventh’, because Vajrakilaya is practiced for the entire seventh month.

The reason why the Vajrakilaya ritual is performed during the seventh lunar month is to commemorate Ngachang Kunga Rinchen’s (1517-1584) activities. There was a period during which Sakya monasteries went through very difficult times, degenerated, and indeed almost became extinct. Then Ngachang Kunga Rinchen, one of the Sakya throne holders, revived the school by re-building the temples and re-establishing the whole system. Since that time, the Vajrakilaya ritual has been performed during the seventh month to commemorate and repay the kindness of Ngachang Kunga Rinchen, who worked so tirelessly to revive the order.

The Vajrakilaya ritual begins with a very elaborate dance to bless the earth and related earth rituals. After that a sand mandala is created, and the vajra master and monks incorporate the sand mandala into the ritual practice everyday, and receive self-empowerment from it.
The seventy-five kilaya, (ritual pegs or stakes) that are part of the Vajrakilaya ritual mandala must be made according to exact specifications. This is an important aspect of the ritual. In Rajpur, His Holiness directed the creation of a mold, which was cast in Delhi The sets of kilaya made from this mold are used in monasteries in both India and Tibet .


Posts: 1486
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 7:30 am

Vajrakilaya examination at Sakya Centre, Rajpur , India

Postby phantom59 » Tue Jun 05, 2012 6:02 pm

Since 1974, at Sakya Centre, which is His Holiness Sakya Trizin’s monastery in Rajpur , India , the annual ceremony has incorporated a very important and demanding examination for monks wishing to demonstrate their mastery of the ritual curriculum. Part of the examination requires a different student each day to serve as chant master. The candidate is required to lead the chanting of the ritual without using a text. In one of the most complex sections of the ritual, a text may be used, although doing so results in a loss of five points. Passing this important examination is the gateway to further study and training in all aspects of advanced ritual practice. Unless a monk passes this Vajrakilaya examination, they do not receive further ritual training and their tasks in the monastery are allocated accordingly.

From 1974 to the present, 187 monks have passed the Vajrakilaya examination. Among them are His Eminence Ratna Vajra Rinpoche, His Eminence Gyana Vajra Rinpoche, and seven incarnate lamas. These 187 monks came from various parts of India , Tibet , Sikkim , Mustang , Bhutan , Mongolia and Nepal .


Return to “Tibetan Buddhism”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Adamantine, climb-up, Heruka85, JasonJ, KRB80, Norwegian, ratna, TashiBob4671 and 58 guests