Vajrayana and PTSD

Discuss the application of the Dharma to situations of social, political, environmental and economic suffering and injustice.
Sherab Rigdrol

Vajrayana and PTSD

Post by Sherab Rigdrol »

As a psychotherapist I've worked a lot with people who struggle with grief and trauma. Grief has always been a fairly easy vehicle for introducing people to the dharma. However trauma is another monster altogether. I'm not a big proponent of so-called trauma therapies such as EMDR or Brainspotting. They can be useful for people who experience active trauma ie flashbacks and body memories. However, for people with accumulated trauma, whose personalities have been formed based on their traumatic experiences, I find treatment lacks. I've wanted to talk to my teacher about the best way to address people who have gone through unimaginable suffering in this lifetime with practices they can do that will heal and transform them. I think it's important for people to be active in their healing process. In fact it is almost impossible for them to transform their suffering if they aren't. A lot of therapists use Dialectical Behavior Therapy, which is basic mindfulness packed into a pointless group of anagrams meant to help people self regulate. Doesn't do much for the somatic aspect though. As I develop my private practice I'd like to be able to suggest definite practices for my clients to engage in while I support and track their progress.

I mention Vajrayana because of the inherent power of these practices to transform affliction. Obviously the specific Inner and Outer Tantras would in no way be suitable for anyone with dehabilitating PTSD. But maybe some Chenrezig, Medicine Buddha, or Green Tara practices? Also, Yantra Yoga seems like a great resource to release trauma from the body. All of these practice of course would be through the guidance of a Lama. I simply would use their practice as a way of resourcing and transforming the psychological wounds.