Somewhat of a beginner to meditation

Discussion of meditation in the Mahayana and Vajrayana traditions.
ryan95227

Somewhat of a beginner to meditation

Post by ryan95227 »

i have been meditating for about 4 months approximately. I've read a beginner's guide to meditation "with each and every breath" and the noble eightfold path from accesstoinsight.org. These two things i have read talk about the importance of body scanning and sitting comfortably to maximize the energy needed for jhana to be reached. I have extreme problems with this approach. I've incoporated body scanning for 3 weeks so far and i have not detected any signs of movements,sensations,tensions, or etc. There's nothing I can detect. Is body scanning actually true or something? Now my second problem is sitting comfortably. I can't sit in half/full lotus position. I need to rely on a wall and a soft bed to get by. I lay my legs on top of each and this puts pressure on my legs as my meditaiton time exceeds 30 mins. How can i sit in half/full lotus?

These problems are bothering me as I'm planning to head over to 10 day retreat over summer. There's no way i can sit down on a soft ground without any wall to rely on for 2 hours. Its impossible. My back will break. Is there any way for me to sit in half/full lotus or any way for me to dectect body sensations?
Dan74
Former staff member

Re: Somewhat of a beginner to meditation

Post by Dan74 »

Hi Ryan,

I sit in Burmese which I find much easier than half-lotus and still very stable. Image

And I wouldn't sit for more than 50 minutes generally and for a beginner, that is usually too long. I'd build up from 15-20 up to 30-40.

As for body scanning, do you mean you are not aware of any sensations of your body? Tightness, tingling, etc?
daverupa

Post by daverupa »

ryan95227 wrote:How can i sit in half/full lotus?
Stretching and time, and even then some people just don't have the hips for those postures.