agitated and upset after meditating out of house

Discussion of meditation in the Mahayana and Vajrayana traditions.
_Namaste_

agitated and upset after meditating out of house

Post by _Namaste_ »

av been trying to meditate on and off but over the last month or so my husband has noticed when i meditate out of the house i become very agitated and upset i am an abuse survivor and its maybe that my mind thinks it may be unsafe to do this unsure if its anything to do with caffine i do most of the time drink decaff but i also drink diet coke am trying to limit the amount am drinking i no longer drink it at home and all i drink is water decaff coffee and at night sleepy tea can anyone have suggestion what i can do about this :namaste:
Fortyeightvows

Re: agitated and upset after meditating out of house

Post by Fortyeightvows »

I'm not an expert but I'd make sure to have my back to a wall.
Short time meditating.. pay attention to if the agitation arises watch it arise, detach from it and keep the session short. At the end of the session before you stand up rub your hands together then rub your eyes, face and legs.
Then if you feel like sitting again do another short session.

(I must emphasize that I am not an expert)
Fortyeightvows

Post by Fortyeightvows »

And of course the standard response is to consult an expert.
Jesse

Post by Jesse »

It could be any number of things,

For one, are you using meditation to alleviate irritation/agitation? If so, it could simply be that you are more aware of those moods after meditating, or it could be that you are more aware of something that was already there, to begin with (Even if you weren't specifically using meditation to solve it.)