Study in Japan

Forum for discussion of East Asian Buddhism. Questions specific to one school are best posted in the appropriate sub-forum.
Bernie

Study in Japan

Post by Bernie » Tue Aug 23, 2016 8:35 am

Hello Everyone,

I live in a rural area of Japan, Takamatsu City, Kagawa-ken, on Shikoku Island. I would like to know if there are any study programs/temples to practice at....I am married so I cannot make a long-term, residential commitment, and 55 years old, so age my be a concern?

I know there are websites that list temples in Japan where foreigners can stay for a short-term. Okayama is about an hour away by train...

I have been sitting on my own for about 12 years, but have had no formal training.

Thanks,

Bernie

Queequeg
Global Moderator

Re: Study in Japan

Post by Queequeg » Tue Aug 23, 2016 2:59 pm

Bernie wrote:Hello Everyone,

I live in a rural area of Japan, Takamatsu City, Kagawa-ken, on Shikoku Island. I would like to know if there are any study programs/temples to practice at....I am married so I cannot make a long-term, residential commitment, and 55 years old, so age my be a concern?

I know there are websites that list temples in Japan where foreigners can stay for a short-term. Okayama is about an hour away by train...

I have been sitting on my own for about 12 years, but have had no formal training.

Thanks,

Bernie
Wow. What path brought you way out there?

:smile:

Do you speak Japanese?

What kind of tradition are you looking for?

Many sects have foreigner or overseas outreach groups. You might look those up.
Those who, even with distracted minds,
Entered a stupa compound
And chanted but once, “Namo Buddhaya!”
Have certainly attained the path of the buddhas.

-Lotus Sutra, Expedient Means Chapter

There are beings with little dust in their eyes who are falling away because they do not hear the Dhamma. There will be those who will understand the Dhamma.
-Ayacana Sutta

Bernie

Post by Bernie » Tue Aug 23, 2016 11:50 pm