Varying pronunciations and formats of gongyo

Myoho-Nameless

Varying pronunciations and formats of gongyo

Post by Myoho-Nameless » Mon Nov 30, 2015 6:54 am

Over the eons since I began this practice I have managed to accumulate roughly 6 or 7 gongyo books from various sources. I find it best to vary my pattern and use different formats. I also have no allegiance to any sect, org, or school, and am neutral on most points of contention in the Nichiren community, so this does not bother me. I have noticed that there are differing pronunciations of the sutra recitation. I will give two examples from the 2nd chapter just using the romaji.

Go ju jo butsu irai

Go ju jo butchi rai

nyo ze hon matsu kukyo to

nyo ze hon mak kukyo to

I feel like the reason is staring me in the face as, many moons ago, I studied the Japanese language, and I have been assuming these differences exist more or less for the same reasons that the "nam" vs "namu" pronunciations of the daimoku exist. There is just variance in shindoku. Though it follows a pattern and it not modified willy nilly. both of the examples I have given I have been assuming are related to the "tsu" sound in Japanese.

Am I correct? or is there some other reason for this variance?

also, does anyone know why the Fuji schools use the 5 or 6 prayer format?

A downside to being a lone wolf, or lone fox, is being out of the loop.
"Keep The Gods Out Of It. Swear On Your Heads. Which I Will Take If You Break Your Vow."- Geralt of Rivia

Rita_Repulsa

Re: Varying pronunciations and formats of gongyo

Post by Rita_Repulsa » Mon Nov 30, 2015 12:11 pm

Just chant in English.

:thumbsup:
Echo interaction cause and effect the interconnected quality of the absolute truth the foundation of Buddhism laying in this belief in happiness the four immeasurable and cessation of suffering. - tomschwarz

Buddhism is not a Care Bears fantasy (as many westerns think). - Harimoo

Myoho-Nameless

Post by Myoho-Nameless » Mon Nov 30, 2015 7:37 pm