Differences between Chinese and Japanese Pure Land Buddhism

KiwiNFLFan

Differences between Chinese and Japanese Pure Land Buddhism

Post by KiwiNFLFan »

I've just come back from a vacation to Japan, where I visited a number of Buddhist temples, including Higashi Honganji, one of the two head temples of Jodo Shinshu. I attended a morning service at another Jodo Shinshu temple in Tokyo and really liked it.

On the other hand, I have very little experience with Chinese Pure Land Buddhism. I did come across the concept when I lived in Malaysia almost 10 years ago, but didn't learn much about it.

Are there many differences between the two traditions? I know they both believe in devotion to Amitabha Buddha, but what else is different? I suspect there will be liturgical differences as well. But apart from that, what are the main differences? Are there practices that are done in one tradition but not the other? What about vegetarianism? I know that most Japanese Buddhists eat meat and that vegetarianism is significant among Chinese Buddhists (who have had "fake meat" for hundreds of years).

Also, is the Japanese concept of ta-riki or "other power" (i.e. relying totally on Amitabha Buddha to take you to the Pure Land) present in Chinese Buddhism?
Admin_PC
Former staff member

Re: Differences between Chinese and Japanese Pure Land Buddhism

Post by Admin_PC »

It’s hard to generalize, because there’s some variation but Chinese Pure Land tends to not be quite as exclusive. Whether it’s exclusive nembutsu, exclusively focusing on Amida, or exclusive Other Power. For example, at Ven Chin Kung’s Amitabha Society branches, they recite the Ksitigarbha Sūtra once a month.

Ta-Riki = 他力, yes it exists in Chinese Pure Land. Some teach that Pure Land works as a combination of Self Power and Other Power, others not as much on the Self Power. Nobody does exclusive Other Power to the extent of Shin Buddhists though.