Shingon Initiation - Japan

AugustusRex

Shingon Initiation - Japan

Post by AugustusRex »

Hello all,

I'm new to the forum: I'll be active and I'm glad to participate here.

I've been practicing for the last 3 years, I've received several transmissions in a Sakya-pa context.

Do you know if by any chance I could meet a teacher / master to receive a transmission in Japan? I'm going to be in Tokyo 21 days (20th January to 10 February 2018), and It would be really nice to receive the two mandalas.

Thank you all.

Sarva Mangalam.
crazy-man

Re: Shingon Initiation - Japan

Post by crazy-man »

In general, Shingon is not as accessible to Westerners as Tibetan Buddhism is. To fully train in the Shingon school, one would have to at the minimum become fluent in Japanese and spend years closely training under the guidance of a Shingon priest who holds the teaching lineage that has been passed down unbroken from Kobo Daishi.

At a more basic and symbolic level, however, any member of the general public can come to take part in the entry-level initiation ceremony (Kanjō 灌頂) for one of the two mandalas which are held twice a year. The initiation into the Womb Realm is held annually on May 3-5, and the Diamond Realm initiation takes place October 1-3. The cost to join the ceremony is currently ¥3,000 and you may join on any one of the three days.
http://siamandbeyond.com/joining-an-eso ... ount-koya/
Presently in Koyasan, the esoteric initiation ritual are conducted for all people annually; May 3rd to 5th for the Womb Realm, and October 1st to 3rd for the Diamond Realm. We wish and pray that more people will participate in these ceremonies in order to experience the precious karmic bonds with a Buddha and to live a generous and joyful life, day after day.
< Spring >
On May 3rd from 8:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.
On May 4th from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
On May 5th from 8:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.

< Autumn >
On October 1st and 2nd from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.