Sudden Enlightenment

Dgj

Sudden Enlightenment

Post by Dgj » Fri Dec 09, 2016 3:44 pm

I am a very poorly educated Buddhist and I do not have a firm grasp of Zen, but am trying to learn about it, and I undoubtedly have some misconceptions about it, so please read the following with that in mind:

I studied Zen for many years from texts and then recently for a year under a teacher and I am confused by sudden enlightenment. It seems that Shenhui spoke against sitting meditation and yet we all practice it; either sitting with a koan or shikantaza. To my deficient understanding it seems the picture painted of sudden enlightenment was that a teacher could spur a student into awakening with words and deeds, and today we practice sitting in meditation on records of those words and deeds, instead of being spurred into awakening by a teacher's words and deeds alone, as it would seem Shenhui would have preferred.

Clearly I have misconstrued something. What am I missing?
I wish I knew what I was talking about but, let's face it, I probably don't.

Astus
Former staff member

Re: Sudden Enlightenment

Post by Astus » Fri Dec 09, 2016 5:30 pm

Sudden enlightenment is to recognise that there is nothing to grasp, nothing to attain. Such recognition is missed because of chasing all sorts of illusory thoughts instead of taking a look at thoughts and seeing them to be completely unreliable. Thus all the teachings and methods to entertain oneself with in the hope of one day gaining something special. And as long as there is hope there is also delusion.

"Then again, if the bodhisattva refrains from taking up the practice of any particular dharma, because he does not apprehend any dharma whatsoever, he may thereby succeed in realizing prajñāpāramitā."
(Nagarjuna on the Six Perfections, ch 30)