How do I go deeper into Zen practice?

mddrill

How do I go deeper into Zen practice?

Post by mddrill »

Hello. I've been practicing Zazen for about 3-4 years now. I try to sit for 30 minutes twice a day (but a lot of times it's more like once). I go to a local (Soto) Zen center on and off, but I've mostly just been practicing on my own from what I read in books.

I would like to go deeper into Buddhism, but I don't really know how. Whenever I try to talk to the teacher at the Zen center about this, she just tells me that there's nowhere to go and nothing to accomplish. Which I guess is true, but what's the point of practice then? There has to be something to gain out of this or she would just stay home. I'm considering trying other forms of Buddhism because of this. I tried Tibetan, but it seems to be mostly chanting and not a lot of meditation. Theravada sounds interesting, but I thought I would ask the Zen practitioners of this site for advice before giving up on Zen :D

What should I do if I want to go deeper into my Buddhist practice, but don't really know how to go about it or even I'm looking for? I've heard something about taking refuge and vows, would that be a good place to start?
Johnny Dangerous
Global Moderator

Re: How do I go deeper into Zen practice?

Post by Johnny Dangerous »

First, I would reconsider your idea that 'meditation' means just sitting quietly. If your idea of meditation sets that limitation, it doesn't matter the tradition, it will prevent you from going deeper.

Beyond that, just try different places out, get a feel for what they are doing, don't be afraid to adk questions. Don't assume yoy understand what a practice is without experiencing it for a while.
Meditate upon Bodhicitta when afflicted by disease

Meditate upon Bodhicitta when sad

Meditate upon Bodhicitta when suffering occurs

Meditate upon Bodhicitta when you are scared

-Khunu Lama
Meido

Post by Meido »