Kenshō the first Bhumi?

shanehanner

Kenshō the first Bhumi?

Post by shanehanner »

I’m primarily a student of Dzogchen so I’m not as familiar with how one makes sense of the terminology used in Zen and this misunderstanding has been bothering me for some time.

First, is Kenshō considered the first Bhumi, realization of emptiness?

In Hakiun: On Kenshō, he says “After you have become strong through study and practice, and the awakened nature suddenly manifests, you realize the essence of inner reality all at once“..”.awakening has an explosive quality about it.”

He also mentions that one isn’t practicing Zen until they have had the Kenshō experience.

I’m wondering if Kenshō is the same as “recognizing Rigpa” in Dzogchen. Which is to say one recognizes ones own awareness as the basis. From my understanding this does not necessarily mean one has achieved the first Bhumi but rather that one understands the teachings in a way that one can begin the Dzogchen path ultimately achieving the first Bhumi to the last.
Matylda

Re: Kenshō the first Bhumi?

Post by Matylda »

If you would read Torei Enji zenji Mujinto, it is in English, but with comment. by Daibi zenji you could understand complexity of kensho.
Kensho is not the first bhumi. If you read detailed listing by Nagarjuna, with kensho alone one lacks all qualities, like emenating 100 bodies at once and visiting at the same time 100 buddha realms and receiving instructions etc.
As for recognition of rigpa, no kensho is not about it... recognition of rigpa may come even in very initial stages of trekcho, specially if one did proper and loong rushen retreats, those are rather short momnets of awarness of rigpa - here I am not sure of the term 'awareness'..