My parents against my beliefs

General discussion, particularly exploring the Dharma in the modern world.
tigerh98

My parents against my beliefs

Post by tigerh98 »

My parents are against my beliefs and im 15 and im a buddhist and a scientist and i know spanish and english and i really dont need school anymore becouse im going become a buddhist monk when im 18 and i live in usa florida when im 16 im going quit school but my parents do not accept that my my mom says that if i quit school when 16 shes not going give me money to go to china to become a monk and when i quit school i can get a job but my mom says that yea i can get a job but have to keep going to school its bs so if i quit school i have to get a job and make my own money -_- i cant take school any more the information i get in school its useless for the way im going live as a monk so if i become a monk in usa idk how ill go to california or new york cuz i only know one temple in florida so how am im goin travel to other states in usa?
DGA
Former staff member

Re: My parents against my beliefs

Post by DGA »

Hi Wateryang,

You need to stay in school.

You need to stay in school if you're going to be a monk. You need to stay in school as a backup plan in case you're not going to be a monk.

Really, you need to stay in school.
greentara

Post by greentara »

Have you had a really bad school experience? Don't be impulsive, pause,think, maybe your mothers right? Don't use 'monkhood' cause you want to escape from your reality. If the urge to be a monk is so strong ...you'll know, there'll be no doubts!
tigerh98

Post by tigerh98 »