Buddhism views on death & reincarnation...

General discussion, particularly exploring the Dharma in the modern world.
mystique

Buddhism views on death & reincarnation...

Post by mystique »

Hi,

I am still learning buddhism, because this religion is the most make sense & comforting me. But I still have unanswered question in my mind till today:

1. Can dead person comunicate with us? let say before ian die, he lock a safetybox with a passcode. Then after he die can his spirit/soul tell this code to any alive person so his son can open that box?
This is real life example of psychiatrist who research about reincarnation when he still alive and prepared that kind of test before he died:
http://www.nytimes.com/2007/02/18/healt ... enson.html

2. In buddhism stated the bardo phase is generally said to last a maximum of 49 days, but from one research about reincarnation done by Jim B. Tucker, indicates that the time between death and apparent rebirth is, on average, sixteen months:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jim_B._Tucker

3. In buddhism there's no god and buddha said not to worship buddha only respect. but why most chinese buddhist in my country looks like worshipping buddha when they are in trouble to ask for help or asking for fortune, divining from Guanyin?
is it acceptable for us to worship/pray to buddha when we are in danger situation?
Can buddha or bodhisattva help to prevent danger in human world?

Thanks
Schrödinger’s Yidam

Re: Buddhism views on death & reincarnation...

Post by Schrödinger’s Yidam »

1. Can dead person comunicate with us?
Generally no.
2. In buddhism stated the bardo phase is generally said to last a maximum of 49 days,
In the Tibetan forms I believe that the connection the recently deceased has to his past life is thought to be 49 days and therefore prayers on his behalf can help him. However sometimes it is many years before the next birth.