Indulgence, Aversion, Dissolution, and Somethingsomethingelse

General discussion, particularly exploring the Dharma in the modern world.
bluegaruda

Indulgence, Aversion, Dissolution, and Somethingsomethingelse

Post by bluegaruda »

I've been meditating for a couple of years now, have a lama, and will be forwarding this info to them as well.

To begin, I've been having a lot of ruminating and obsessive thoughts and tell myself the following: "By acknowledging I don’t have control over my thoughts it loosens my attachment to the obsession. They dissolve on their own." I don’t know if this is true. I tell myself this. I feel a little better and the thoughts come back and feel a little worse.

What does letting a thought be entail? If most of my ruminating thoughts are narratives of distrust of people how do I know if I should let that narrative/thought be and when should I stop that thought? When do I know that stopping that thought isn't just aversion? If I let a thought be, does that mean that thought doesn’t produce another sequential narrative of that thought?

How far do I let the process indulge into the thoughts? How do I know I’m not just induldging into a thought rather than letting it be and seeing the thought through. How do I know the difference between letting go and aversion? The difference between indulgent feeding of a thought process and letting a thought be? :juggling:

Basically, what is healthy way to stop obsessing over intrusive thought loops in my day to day life? :toilet:
Dan74
Former staff member

Re: Indulgence, Aversion, Dissolution, and Somethingsomethingelse

Post by Dan74 »

Hi bluegaruda :hi:

Paying attention is how I think we learn to answer these questions. So rather than the usual reactivity, at some point we just listen, observe these thoughts, observe what arises in response to them. This approach creates a space around them where we are no longer on autopilot but actually engaged and aware.