Why Try At All In Life?

General discussion, particularly exploring the Dharma in the modern world.
[N.B. This is the forum that was called ‘Exploring Buddhism’. The new name simply describes it better.]
hkvanx

Why Try At All In Life?

Post by hkvanx » Fri Sep 20, 2019 2:43 pm

I was contemplating this on subway ride to work.

If everything in life is impermanence, why try at all? Besides practicing meditation, all other efforts are fruitless to our individual path to nirvana, peace and happiness.

I am a layman and do not live in a monastery like a monk. Does that mean I should do the bare minimum (work to get money for food & shelter)? Avoid setting goals, relationships and possessions? These things promote attachments that will lead to suffering.

Opinions on this approach?

Queequeg
Global Moderator

Re: Why Try At All In Life?

Post by Queequeg » Fri Sep 20, 2019 3:00 pm

If you follow the logic completely, dropping out is the only thing that makes sense.

Most of us can't handle dropping out.

Be honest about your wants, desires and attachments. Be moderate.

Suffer what there is to suffer. Enjoy what there is to enjoy. Continue on the path of refuge.

For now, it appears your at a stage of dawning realization about the implications of what the Buddha taught. I heard a teacher once say, if Dharma is not upsetting you, you're not understanding it. This path is not about coddling and humoring your wishes. It's about seeing clearly

For now, I'd suggest not making any rash decisions and let those thoughts you are wrestling with stew for a while. A few years is about right. Let yourself be a layman. You took no vows. The path to Buddhahood is long. Patience, endurance.
Those who, even with distracted minds,
Entered a stupa compound
And chanted but once, “Namo Buddhaya!”
Have certainly attained the path of the buddhas.

-Lotus Sutra, Expedient Means Chapter