Strange question... my lizard and Buddhism

General discussion, particularly exploring the Dharma in the modern world.
DeepFriedFunk

Strange question... my lizard and Buddhism

Post by DeepFriedFunk »

I'm sure some of you have seen some of my other posts. I am new to Buddhism (about 3-4 months of serious learning, it's like im standing at the bottom of a mountain and wondering which path to take atm. I practiced meditation for a long whilse but obly recently would i tick Buddhist on a form if it asked for a religion (if you get what I mean)

Now, my problem is, I have a Lizard. Beautiful little guy, a Crested Gecko with a reasonably rare pinstripe patterning.(http://i1001.photobucket.com/albums/af1 ... Edit-1.jpg" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;) If you wanna see him.

I'm a diagnosed insomniac. Crested Geckos are nocturnal so I take pleasure in watching him go about his business at night under a soft blue bulb that simulates moonlight. This includes his hunting methods. He likes crickets and nothing else. I have tried him on non-live food and he wouldn't take it. He only eats fruit if i feed it to the crickets before hand (it's called gut loading). Since finding Buddhism this all seems barbaric to me. Feeding insects to be devoured by my little pet so he gets the nutrients I have fed them is very healthy for him. The little guy is in very good shape.