Mahamudra and the 6 Yogas of Naropa Aug20 - Sep01 2012

Post Reply
Posts: 1486
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 7:30 am

Mahamudra and the 6 Yogas of Naropa Aug20 - Sep01 2012

Post by phantom59 » Sun Jul 03, 2011 3:30 pm

Event : Mahamudra and the 6 Yogas of Naropa by Glenn Mullin
Date : August 20 - September 1 2012
Venue : Lapis Sky Camp, Mongolia
Map :" onclick=";return false; (Keyin Arkhangai, Mongolia)
Website : ... naropa.htm" onclick=";return false;
Programme :
Day 1
Arrive Ulan Bator.

Day 2
Visit to Ulan Bator monasteries.

Day 3
Travel to Kharakhorim visit Old Man Monastery enroute. Overnight Kharakhorim.

Day 4
Visit Erdene Zhuu monastery, brief practice and talk with head lama. We continue to journey on, visiting Tsetserleg museum and monastery arriving at evening at Lapis Sky Camp, Bunkhan.

Day 5
Lapis Camp 6 Yogas Retreat with Glenn Mullin.

Day 6
Lapis Camp 6 Yogas Retreat with Glenn Mullin.

Day 7
Lapis Camp 6 Yogas Retreat with Glenn Mullin (sunset mediation on hilltop gazing at BayonHondur.

Day 8
Lapis Camp 6 Yogas Retreat with Glenn Mullin.

Day 9
Lapis Camp 6 Yogas Retreat with Glenn Mullin.

Day 10
Ride by horseback to Mini Naadam - Evening concert traditional instruments.

Day 11
Departing Lapis Camp, we drive to Kharakhorin. Over night Kharakhorin.

Day 12
Fly Kharkhorin - UB, shop fly out evening flights.

Mahamudra meditation, which is the basis or “seventh yoga” in the system of the Six Yogas of Naropa,” works to directly reveal emptiness to one's own direct experience. This is achieved by meditating directly on one's own mind. Mahamudra is not listed as a separate yoga, because it is the basis of all six.

The practices associated with mahamudra draw upon instructions from multiple levels of Buddhism, to provide a range of approaches to enlightenment suited to the needs of various practitioners. Mahamudra is believed to enable one to realize the mindstream's innate purity, clarity and perfection, summed up by the term “buddha nature.”

The practice of the Six Yogas begins with tummo, or “inner fire yoga.” This is a technique of refining subtle bodily chemistry and energy flow by working with inner fire, the powers of sun and moon in the body. Mastery of inner fire quickly brings the mind to its most refined and penetrating state, the experience of radiance combined with bliss, an extraordinarily powerful state of mind that is unequaled in its ability to directly realize ultimate reality.

Gyulü is a practice of working with the illusory or subtle body endowed with the qualities of a Buddha. It takes the refined states of body and mind accomplished by means of tummo, and applies these within three contexts: the yoga of the waking state; the yoga of sleep and dreams; and the bardo yoga. Thus gyulu involves two of the six yogas: illusory body and also the yoga of sleep and dreams.

The fourth yoga, known as osel, or clear light, teaches the tantric practitioner how to maintain an inner posture of formless radiance in all situations.

These four are the basis or main body of the practice, and are designed to produce enlightenment in one lifetime for the ordinary practitioner. The remaining two – powa, or transference of consciousness at the time of death, and the bardo yoga, or training in how to apply yoga in the bardo state following the moment of death, are branch or supplementary yogas, for those who make good progress in the training, but fail to attain final enlightenment before the moment of death falls.

The four foundation yogas, or "main body of the trainings":

Tummo: The Yoga of Inner Heat
Gyulu: The Illusory Body Yoga.
Milam Naljor: The Yoga of Sleep and Dream
Osel Naljor: The Yoga of the Clear Light Mind

The two auxiliary yogas:

Powa: The yoga of consciousness transference to be mastered, for application in the moments leading up to death.
Bardo Yoga: The application to be mastered for application after the moment of death.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests